TheGodminute

A daily dose of God’s touch in a minute…

“Father! give us a great year, I pray”

P1010214When she got off her donkey, Caleb asked her, “What can I do for you?”
She replied, “Do me a special favor. Since you have given me land in the Negev, give me also springs of water.” So Caleb gave her the upper and lower springs.

Judges 1: 14 -15

New International Version (©1984)

I love this. Caleb has got his daughter married along with a gift of a land, it must have made her happy, a land is a good gift after all but what i like about this girl is her audacity to ask for more despite what she has received .

Displaying a strong confidence in her approach she meets her Father and Caleb can’t help but ask “ what can I do for you?”

And she tells him she is come to ask for more.

Surprise ! Surprise! Her Father obliges.

He could have reasoned, he could choose to say no, he could have saved the springs for a better time and purpose but the Father saw the conviction and the trust with which his child had approached to ask for something more than what was already given.

God promises us:
Protection: ‘A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand at your right hand, but it will not come near you’
Healing: ‘You are healed by my stripes’
Comfort: ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you’
Provision: ‘The Lord won’t cause the righteous to hunger’
Strength: ‘I give you authority’
Prosperity: ‘Remember the Lord your God, for it is He who gives you the ability to produce wealth.’

While there is a lot that has already been promised and all promises are to be claimed through the merit of what Jesus did on the cross, I still ask ‘Father ! Bless us with a great year I pray’ hoping my approach be of conviction and trust that God the Father will be happy to oblige.

Love and well wishes for a great 2013!

4 comments on ““Father! give us a great year, I pray”

  1. Ben Nelson
    January 8, 2013

    This is such a good post – we have not because we ask not. Makes me think of when Bathsheba went to David on his death bed and requested backing for the promise he had made her, only as you say in this case, there was not even a promise to work with.

    We need to be bold in our approach to the Father. we have not because we ask not, so we must ask, seek and knock.

    Thanks Sophia.

  2. Pingback: What’s so important about the springs? | Thoughts of Sam Isaacson

  3. The True Light!
    August 17, 2016

    I am a bit late in reading this one, but it is very good…even in 2016, and 1/2! And thank you for your support at my website.

    Steve

Leave a Reply

